Press Releases

Cast votes now in 2019 Indiana Soybean Alliance Board of Directors election

Contact: Dave Blower Jr. at 317-644-0980;


INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. (July 10, 2019) — Hoosier soybean farmers must cast votes for the 2019 Indiana Soybean Alliance (ISA) annual election by July 31. This year’s election includes three contested races.


“The ISA board is responsible for investing Indiana soybean checkoff funds in programs that will increase the viability of Hoosier soybean farmers,” said ISA Chair Joe Tuholski, who farms near LaPorte, Ind. “Indiana soybean farmers shape the direction of the board by casting votes for new board members. This is another way for farmers to have their voices heard.”


ISA distributed ballots to Indiana soybean farmers in Districts 1, 3 and 4 by mail. All ballots must be postmarked by July 31. The uncontested race in District 2 has no formal election process. Farmers in Districts 1, 3 and 4 who did not received a ballot, may request one by calling 317-644-2791.


Incumbent Nancy Cline of Kirklin, Ind. seeks re-election in District 1. The challengers include Lyman Len Smith of Wabash, Ind., and Joe Stoller of Bremen, Ind. District 1 includes Benton, Carroll, Cass, Clinton, Elkhart, Fulton, Howard, Jasper, Kosciusko, LaPorte, Lake, Marshall, Miami, Newton, Porter, Pulaski, St. Joseph, Starke, Tipton, Wabash and White counties.


Candidates seeking a position from District 3 are incumbent Craig Williams of Oaktown, Ind., Kevin Underwood of West Lafayette, Ind., and Andy Miller, also of Oaktown, Ind. District 3 counties include Clay, Daviess, Dubois, Fountain, Gibson, Greene, Knox, Martin, Montgomery, Owen, Parke, Pike, Posey, Putnam, Spencer, Sullivan, Tippecanoe, Vanderburgh, Vermillion, Vigo, Warren and Warrick.


Five candidates seek two available positions in District 4. Seeking re-election are incumbents Phil Ramsey of Shelbyville, Ind., and Mike Koehne of Greensburg, Ind. The challengers are Kevin Burbrink of Seymour, Ind., David Hardin of Avon, Ind., and Jim Riggs of Noblesville, Ind. District 4 counties include Bartholomew, Boone, Brown, Clark, Crawford, Dearborn, Decatur, Fayette, Floyd, Franklin, Hamilton, Hancock, Harrison, Hendricks, Jackson, Jefferson, Jennings, Johnson, Lawrence, Marion, Monroe, Morgan, Ohio, Orange, Perry, Ripley, Rush, Scott, Shelby, Switzerland, Union and Washington.


Uncontested, incumbents Elaine Gillis of Dunkirk, Ind., and Matthew Chapman of Springport, Ind., were re-elected to District 2. The counties in District 2 include Adams, Allen, Blackford, DeKalb, Delaware, Grant, Henry, Huntington, Jay, LaGrange, Madison, Noble, Randolph, Steuben, Wayne, Wells and Whitley.


Federal law allows ISA to focus on seven program areas, such as grain marketing, sustainability programs, livestock, aquaculture, production research, consumer education and new uses for soybeans. Farmers who vote in the election must have grown a soybean crop within the past two years, must vote in the county they reside, and may vote once per farm entity.


Those farmers who are elected will start serving on the ISA board in December, and each will serve a three-year term. For more information, visit or call Hannah Vorsilak, ISA Director of Education and Training, at 317-644-2791.




The Indiana Soybean Alliance works to enhance the viability of Indiana soybean farmers through the effective and efficient investment of soybean checkoff funds and the development of sound policies that protect and promote the interest of Indiana soybean farmers. The ISA is working to build new markets for soybeans through the promotion of biodiesel, livestock, grain marketing, aquaculture, new soybean uses, and research. ISA is led by an elected farmer board that directs investments of the soybean checkoff funds on behalf of more than 28,000 Indiana soybean farmers and promotes policies on behalf of the ISA’s 800 dues-paying members. Visit for more information.


This communication was funded with soybean checkoff dollars.