Press Releases

Seib re-appointed for third term on United Soybean Board


Contact: Dave Blower Jr. at 317-644-0980;

 INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. (Oct. 26, 2018) — USDA Secretary Sonny Perdue has re-appointed Indiana farmer Mark Alan Seib to the United Soybean Board. Seib will be sworn in with 16 other directors at United Soybean Board’s annual meeting in St. Louis on Dec. 5. This appointment marks the start of Seib’s third, three-year term on the USB board. He joins three other soybean farmers representing Indiana on the board, including Tom Griffiths of Kendallville, Ind., David Lowe from Dunkirk, Ind. and Kevin Wilson of Walton, Ind.


“Developing new markets and crop research is at the heart of USB’s work. One area of focus is boosting the market for high oleic soybeans that were developed through USB-funded research,” said Seib, a farmer from Poseyville, Ind. “From a new concrete sealant to a coating on Goodyear tires, USB seeks new uses for soybeans to develop stronger markets that benefit farmers.”


Seib serves as chair of the USB’s Marketplace Action Committee, and he’s also on the Executive Committee. He has also worked on the Audit Evaluation and Customer Focus Committees. Seib is a former Indiana Soybean Alliance farmer-director where he served as president and vice-president during his time on the state checkoff board. Seib’s industry service includes work with the American Soybean Association and the U.S. Meat Export Federation.


The 16 appointees include five new directors with 11 returning. Other re-appointed members include Jim Carroll, Arkansas; Walter L. Godwin, Georgia; Lynn Rohrscheib, Illinois; April Hemmes, Iowa; Rochelle Krusemark, Minnesota; Benjamin Derek Potter, North Carolina; Jay Myers, North Dakota; Andrew J. Fabin, Pennsylvania; David Iverson, South Dakota and Robert W. White Jr., Virginia. The five new appointees are Brent Gatton, Kentucky; Garrett Marsh, Louisiana; Patrick Hobbs, Missouri; Tony Johanson, Nebraska and Jeff Magyar, Ohio.


“I know these individuals will work hard to invest soy checkoff funds to further our goal of promoting U.S. soy’s sustainability and improving profit potential for soybean farmers,” said USB Chair Lewis Bainbridge, who is a soybean farmer from Ethan, S.D.


The 73 farmer-directors of USB oversee the investments of the soy checkoff to maximize profit opportunities for all U.S. soybean farmers. These volunteers invest and leverage checkoff funds to increase the value of U.S. soy meal and oil, to ensure U.S. soybean farmers have the freedom and infrastructure to operate, and to meet the needs of U.S. soy’s customers. The federal Soybean Promotion, Research and Consumer Information Act stipulates the USDA Agricultural Marketing Service has oversight responsibilities for USB and the soy checkoff.




The Indiana Soybean Alliance works to enhance the viability of Indiana soybean farmers through the effective and efficient investment of soybean checkoff funds and the development of sound policies that protect and promote the interest of Indiana soybean farmers. The ISA is working to build new markets for soybeans through the promotion of biodiesel, livestock, grain marketing, aquaculture, new soybean uses, and research. ISA is led by an elected farmer board that directs investments of the soybean checkoff funds on behalf of more than 28,000 Indiana soybean farmers and promotes policies on behalf of the ISA’s 800 dues-paying members. Visit for more information.


This communication was funded with soybean checkoff dollars.